CLA Awards Program

From the CLA

CLA is pleased to announce a new structure for our awards. The structure was approved by Executive Council in December 2011, based on a report and recommendations from an Awards Review Task Force chaired by Past President Keith Walker.

CLA Awards are now grouped into three categories: Support of Core Principles, those which relate to the overall mission of the Association; Recognition of Members, to honour those who make significant contributions to our community; and Recognition of Research, to highlight major reseach contributions which advance the LIS profession. CLA will continue to offer a number of grants and scholarships.

Support of Core Principles

CLA Outstanding Service to Librarianship Award

CLA/Ken Haycock Award for Promoting Librarianship

CLA/ OCLC Innovation Award

CLA Award for the Advancement of Intellectual Freedom in Canada*

CLA Book Awards

Book of the Year for Children Award

Amelia Frances Howard Gibbon Illustrators Award

Young Adult Canadian Book Award

The CLA Outstanding Service to Librarianship award is now intended to serve in place of all former type-of-library awards, and nominations representing library staff in all sectors are welcome. It is possible for the jury to recommend more than one recipient in a given year if merited.

Similarly, the CLA/OCLC Innovation Award serves in place of former sector innovation awards, and nominations are encouraged from libraries of all types.

Recognition of Members

CLA/Alan MacDonald Mentorship Award – NEW

CLA Emerging Leader Award - NEW

Recognition of Research

Best Poster Presentation Award - NEW

Robert H. Blackburn Distinguished Paper Award

Student Article Award

Angela Thacker Memorial Award


Elizabeth Dafoe Scholarship

HW Wilson Scholarship

CLA Research & Development Grant

Chancellor Group Conference Grant

Details about all awards are available on the CLA website.

We have issued a call for nominations for the 2012 awards, as well as a call for volunteers to serve on the award juries.

CLA has discontinued a number of awards, which were previously managed by the former Divisions and Interest Groups. Executive Council has agreed that Networks may initiate awards to recognize the work of members in particular areas of interest. We are working with former sponsors of the discontinued awards to re-direct support to the continuing awards or other activities of the association.

CLA is grateful to the many dedicated members who have volunteered in support of all of our current and discontinued awards, and to the sponsors who have generously provided financial support.

Awards discontinued as of 2012

Miles Blackwell Award for Outstanding Academic Librarian

CACUL Innovation Achievement

CACUL New Academic Librarian of the Year

CTCL Award for Outstanding College Librarian

CTCL Innovation Achievement

(CASL) Margaret B Scott Award of Merit

CASL/Follett International Teacher-Librarian of the Year

CAPL/Brodart Outstanding Public Library Service

CLTA Merit Award for Distinguished Service as a Public Library Trustee

CLTA Stan Heath Achievement in Literacy Award

CASLIS Award for Special Librarianship in Canada

CLA/3M Canada Award for Achievement in Technical Services

Library Technician Interest Group Award of Merit

CLA/YBP Award for Outstanding Contribution to Collection Development & Management

Olga B Bishop Government Information Article Award