Sections

Cataloguing & Technical Services

The Cataloguing and Technical Services Section is a network of ABQLA members working in the cataloguing and technical services field. The interest group works on behalf of all Quebec libraries and information resource centres to promote and support the use of best practices and standards in resource description, acquisitions, serials management and electronic resource management. We offer professional development and networking opportunities for our members and encourage the development of cataloguing and technical services expertise in Quebec. Through its links with the Canadian Federation of Library Associations Cataloguing and Metadata Standards Committee, the interest group participates in national standards development and training initiatives.

ABQLA-Cataloguing-Technical-Services-Section

College & Research Libraries

The College & Research Section section represents ABQLA members working in university, CEGEP and other research libraries. It provides a forum for constructive dialogue, and contributes to the professional development of its members. With the goals of advancing librarianship, promoting an active community, and improving service provision in its members’ libraries, the section hosts events on topics of interest and participates in the ABQLA annual conference.

Public Libraries

The Public Library Section aims to bring together the diverse spectrum of public library workers, whether they be reference, circulation, children’s services, teen services, outreach, acquisitions, social media or other librarians, para-librarians or library technicians. The events organized allow those working in the public library sphere to share their interests and concerns in programming, community building, reader’s advisory, discussion of current events, as well as new tools, resources, innovations and best practices. Networking with colleagues in the public library sector, librarians can compare notes, share successes, lessons learned and gain valuable insights in the ever-changing world of public librarianship. The section organizes a minimum of two annual events.

ABQLA-Public-Libraries-Section
ABQLA-School-Libraries-Section

School Libraries

The ABQLA School Library Section aims to connect Québec library personnel serving students in the public and private sector from pre-Kindergarten through grade 11.  We organize social and professional events for school library staff and those interested in literacy, reading initiatives, digital literacy, and information literacy for school-aged children.

Youth

The Youth Section aims to bring together librarians who work with young people, in a wide range of environments, including public and school libraries. We often hold joint activities with the School and Public Libraries sections, as we share many of the same interests.  Also, as our members work in various types of libraries, networking with colleagues who all serve young people allows us to keep abreast of current trends and new issues for our clientele.

ABQLA-Youth-Section
ABQLA-McGill-Chapter-Section

McGill ABQLA Student Chapter

The McGill ABQLA Student Chapter aims to connect McGill students to the Montréal and Québec library scene, whether for the short term while in school or with a long-term career in mind. We organize social and professional events for students and invite them to participate in events organized by the ABQLA. Some of our popular events include hosting guest speakers, library visits, a trip to a Sugar Shack, as well as spirit activities for special holidays like the Halloween Pumpkin Sale and the Valentine’s Day Candy Gram Sale.

Sections

Catalogage et services techniques

La section du catalogage et des services techniques est un réseau de membres de l’ABQLA qui travaillent dans les domaines du catalogage et des services techniques. Le groupe d’intérêt travaille pour le compte des bibliothèques québécoises et des centres d’information spécialisée à promouvoir et à appuyer l’utilisation de pratiques exemplaires et de normes dans l’exercice de ses activités, telles que la description de ressources, les acquisitions, la gestion des publications en série et la gestion des ressources électroniques. Nous offrons des possibilités de développement professionnel et de réseautage à nos membres et encourageons le développement de l’expertise en catalogage et en services techniques au Québec. Par ses liens avec le Comité sur les normes relatives au catalogage et aux métadonnées de la Fédération canadienne des associations de bibliothèques, le groupe d’intérêts participe au développement des normes nationales et aux initiatives de formation.

Catalogage et services techniques

Section des bibliothèques collégiales et de recherche

La section des bibliothèques collégiales et de recherche regroupe les membres de l’ABQLA travaillant dans les universités, les cégeps et les autres bibliothèques de recherche. Elle offre un forum pour stimuler les discussions constructives et contribue au développement professionnel de ses membres. Dans le but de faire progresser la bibliothéconomie, de promouvoir une communauté active et d’améliorer la prestation de services dans les bibliothèques où ses membres travaillent, la section organise des événements sur des sujets d’intérêts et participe au congrès annuel de l’ABQLA.

Bibliothèques publiques

La section des bibliothèques publiques a pour objectif de créer des liens entre les différents professionnels du milieu des bibliothèques, comme ceux travaillant aux références, dans les cabinets de lecture, pour les services aux enfants et aux adolescents, aux services de proximité, aux acquisitions, pour les médias sociaux, et les autres bibliothécaires, aide-bibliothécaires et bibliotechniciens. Lors des événements organisés par la section, ces professionnels ont la chance de discuter des enjeux entourant leur milieu de travail, comme le développement de leur communauté, les services consultatifs aux lecteurs et la programmation des activités, et de se tenir au courant de l’évolution des pratiques exemplaires, et des nouveaux outils et ressources offerts aux usagers. Le réseautage entre collègues permet aussi aux membres d’échanger sur leurs découvertes, leurs expériences de travail et sur l’évolution des bibliothèques publiques. La section organise au moins deux événements par année.

Bibliothèques publiques
Bibliothèques scolaires

Bibliothèques scolaires

La section des bibliothèques scolaires de l’ABQLA vise à établir un contact entre les bibliothèques québécoises qui sont au service des étudiants des réseaux public et privé, de la prématernelle au secondaire. Nous organisons des événements sociaux et professionnels pour les employés des bibliothèques scolaires et pour ceux qui s’intéressent à la littératie *y compris les compétences en informatique et en recherche d’information), de même que des activités de lecture pour les enfants d’âge scolaire.

Jeunesse

La section jeunesse rassemble les bibliothécaires travaillant auprès des jeunes dans divers milieux, notamment les bibliothèques publiques et scolaires. Les activités de cette section sont souvent mises en commun avec celles des bibliothèques scolaires publiques, en raison de la proximité de leurs champs d’intérêts. Puisque nos membres travaillent dans différents types de bibliothèques, le fait de se rassembler leur permet de se tenir au courant des tendances actuelles et des questions concernant notre clientèle jeunesse.

Jeunesse
Groupe étudiant McGill de l'ABQLA

Groupe étudiant McGill de l’ABQLA

La section des étudiants de McGill de l’ABQLA vise à créer un lien entre les étudiants en sciences de l’information de l’université McGill et le milieu professionnel des bibliothèques de Montréal et du Québec, que ce soit à court terme pendant leurs études, ou en vue d’une carrière à long terme. Nous organisons des événements sociaux pour les étudiants au printemps selon leurs intérêts du moment. Par le passé, nos événements ont inclus la visite d’une cabane à sucre, une soire meurtre et mystère, une sortie dans les bars, etc.