Anne Galler Award

This post is also available in: Français

Each year the Quebec Library Association presents an award to a librarian for outstanding library service. This award recognizes an individual who has enriched librarianship in Quebec and has made a lasting contribution to the profession.


Originally, the award was named The Outstanding Service Award, of which the late Anne Galler was a recipient. In 2000, in honor of Anne, we renamed the award The Anne Galler Award for Outstanding Library Service.


Anne worked tirelessly on behalf of all libraries and librarianship at the local, provincial, federal and international level. Anne’s strong vision will inspire us for years to come.

I.  Purpose of the Award:

To recognize an individual who has enriched librarianship in Quebec and made a lasting contribution to the profession.

II. Criteria:

The award will be presented to an individual who has demonstrated achievement in the following areas of competence:

  • Significant leadership role in the Quebec library community;
  • Exemplary career performance, serving as a model for colleagues in the library profession;
  • Contributions to professional and/or scholarly activities, including ABQLA
III. Selection Process:
  • Nominators must be ABQLA members;
  • A nomination package must include the following:
    • a completed nomination form
    • a nomination letter (maximum 500 words), which describes the nominee’s career achievements and contributions to the profession;
  • Nominations will be received and reviewed by the Anne Galler Award Committee;
  • The Committee will recommend an Award winner to the ABQLA Board of Directors for approval.
IV. Presentation of Award:
  • The award will consist of a plaque;
  • The award will be presented during the ABQLA Annual Conference;
  • If no appropriate recipient is identified by the Awards Committee, no award will be given for that year.
V. Deadline:

Nominations must be submitted by 6 PM EST on Sunday, March 15, 2024.